Buying guides

Deer Repellents for Hostas: How to Choose and When a Fence Is the Answer

Updated 2026-10-05 · sources and Amazon listings checked 2026-10-05

Rutgers rates hosta “Frequently Severely Damaged” — the worst category on its deer-resistance list — and says plants in that group should only be grown with extra protection such as fencing or repellents. This page compares one product of each kind of repellent on sale: scent (egg, dried blood, mint), taste (capsaicin), and a motion sprinkler. Extension research is consistent that repellents reduce damage rather than stop it. Iowa State puts it bluntly: “Repellents are rarely as effective as you would hope.”

How to choose

  1. Scent or taste. Scent products (egg, blood, mint) work before a deer bites; taste products such as capsaicin only after a bite. University of Maryland Extension also notes that scent repellents may work less well in very cold weather.
  2. Plan to rotate. Deer get used to a single repellent. University of Maryland: “It is generally recommended that repellents be changed with each application.” Iowa State says alternating types or scents extends the time before deer get used to them. Buying two products with different modes is more useful than one large bottle.
  3. Start before the damage. University of Maryland says repellents work better if applied before deer establish a feeding pattern.
  4. Reapplication and rain. Iowa State: reapply after heavy rain, irrigation, heavy dew, and to new growth. Hostas keep producing leaves in spring, so the label interval is a maximum, not a schedule.
  5. Regulatory status. Most deer sprays are FIFRA 25(b) “minimum risk” products, which EPA does not review; EPA says statements implying it has approved them are misleading. Bonide Hot Pepper Wax has a full EPA registration.
  6. Label limits. Check temperature and drying-time limits — they matter more in a hot, irrigated hosta bed than the coverage figure.

Comparison

From the labels, manufacturer pages and manuals linked in each card; OMRI status from the OMRI product search; checked 2026-10-05.
Product How it worksActive ingredientsRegulatory statusOMRICoverage per containerReapply (label)Rain / drying
Liquid Fence Deer & Rabbit Repellent Concentrate (32 fl oz) Scent (egg, garlic)Putrescent whole egg solids 10.4%, garlic 3.7%, sodium lauryl sulfate 0.4%, thyme oil 0.01%FIFRA 25(b) minimum riskNot listedUp to 5,000 sq ftAfter 1 week, then about every 3 weeksLabel: rain resistant; apply in a dry period
Plantskydd Animal Repellent Soluble Powder (1 lb) Scent (dried blood)Dried blood 100%FIFRA 25(b) minimum riskListed (trw-9589), to 1 Jun 2027Not stated in sq ft (maker: 400+ one-foot plants)Every 2–3 weeks in the growing season; treat new growthRainfast after about 24 hours
Tomcat Deer Repellent Ready-to-Use (1 gal) Scent (mint, garlic)Sodium lauryl sulfate 1.5%, peppermint oil 0.5%, garlic oil 0.002%FIFRA 25(b) minimum riskNot listedAbout 2,550 sq ftEvery 30 days, or at new damage or new growthDry 30 min before watering; reapply after heavy rain
Bonide Hot Pepper Wax Animal Repellent RTU (32 fl oz) Taste (capsaicin)Capsaicin and related capsaicinoids 0.00001125%EPA Reg. No. 4-398Not listedNot statedEvery 3–7 days until control, then every 2–4 weeksApply when no rain is forecast for 24 h
Orbit Yard Enforcer motion-activated sprinkler (62100) Startle (water)NoneNot a pesticideNot applicableUp to 1,600 sq ft; detection up to 40 ft, 120°4 AA alkaline batteriesOutdoor, cold water only; store before frost

Products

Liquid Fence Deer & Rabbit Repellent Concentrate (32 fl oz)

A scent repellent made from putrescent egg solids and garlic, mixed with water and sprayed on foliage.

Suits: Large hosta beds — the label says one bottle covers up to 5,000 sq ft — and gardeners who want a repellent that works without the deer taking a bite.

Limits

  • Must be mixed (12.8 fl oz per gallon).
  • The label says there is no need to rotate with other brands; University of Maryland and Iowa State extension advise rotating repellents because deer get used to one product.
  • Minimum-risk (25(b)) products are not reviewed by EPA for effectiveness.

What we could not confirm

  • The label gives a reapply interval of about three weeks after the second application, the maker's website says about once a month.

Sources: Liquid Fence label ; Liquid Fence product page

Amazon listing checked 2026-10-05: “Liquid Fence Deer and Rabbit Repellent Concentrate, 32 Ounces” (ASIN B00Y0W5CQG)

Check on Amazon Affiliate link

Plantskydd Animal Repellent Soluble Powder (1 lb)

Dried blood powder mixed with water. Deer associate the smell with predators.

Suits: Organic gardens — it was the only product here we found in the OMRI listing — and as a rotation partner for an egg-based spray.

Limits

  • Label: needs to dry before rain; the maker says it is rainfast after 24 hours.
  • The label warns it may stain concrete, brick and wood.
  • A 2003 University of Maryland trial reported the wettable powder was hard to mix and clogged sprayers; the formulation may have changed since.

What we could not confirm

  • Coverage in square feet: the maker states only "over 400 plants/seedlings 1 foot high" per pound.
  • The OMRI listing is for the powder; we found none for the ready-to-use liquid.

Sources: Plantskydd label (WSU PICOL 39038) ; OMRI product search

Amazon listing checked 2026-10-05: “Plantskydd Animal Repellent for Deer, Rabbit, Voles, Powder Concentrate 1lb” (ASIN B000XXWSPE)

Check on Amazon Affiliate link

Tomcat Deer Repellent Ready-to-Use (1 gal)

Peppermint oil, garlic oil and a soap in a ready-to-spray jug with a wand.

Suits: Gardeners who want no mixing, and a third scent to rotate with egg and blood products. The label allows watering 30 minutes after spraying.

Limits

  • Label: do not apply to new transplants, drought-stressed plants or above 90°F, and test on a small area first — conditions that rule out many summer days in a hosta bed.
  • Residential use only.

What we could not confirm

  • We read the label for the 24 oz bottle with the same formula; we did not find the label for the 1 gal jug itself.

Sources: Tomcat product page (Scotts) ; Tomcat RTU label (WSU PICOL 68619)

Amazon listing checked 2026-10-05: “Tomcat Repellents Deer Repellent, 1 gal.” (ASIN B071L9QR2B)

Check on Amazon Affiliate link

Bonide Hot Pepper Wax Animal Repellent RTU (32 fl oz)

A capsaicin spray. It works by taste, so a deer has to bite a leaf before it is deterred.

Suits: A taste-based partner to rotate with a scent product. Of the five, it was the only one with a full EPA registration, and its label also covers edible crops.

Limits

  • Taste repellents allow some damage first (University of Maryland).
  • The label start-up schedule is a spray every 3–7 days for 2–3 weeks.
  • Label: may be toxic to aquatic organisms; do not let it run off into storm drains.

What we could not confirm

  • Coverage per bottle is not stated on the label or product page.
  • EPA's database lists capsaicin at 0.0001%; the current label lists 0.00001125% total capsaicinoids.

Sources: Bonide label ; EPA PPLS record 4-398

Amazon listing checked 2026-10-05: “Bonide Hot Pepper Wax Animal Repellent, 32 oz Ready-to-Use Spray for Deer, Squirrels, Rabbits in Lawn & Garden” (ASIN B000BOB7UW)

Check on Amazon Affiliate link

Orbit Yard Enforcer motion-activated sprinkler (62100)

A sprinkler on a garden hose that sprays for 3–10 seconds when its sensor detects movement.

Suits: Gardeners who want no chemicals, protecting a single bed or the route deer use to reach it.

Limits

  • Manual: some animals learn the spray pattern and avoid it; weekly adjustment may be needed.
  • The day/night sensor can treat a shady spot as night — and hosta beds are shady.
  • Needs a hose and 20–100 psi water pressure, and must come indoors before the first frost, so it does nothing in winter.

What we could not confirm

  • Not applicable — the specifications we needed were all published.

Sources: Orbit product page ; Orbit manual (PDF)

Amazon listing checked 2026-10-05: “Orbit Yard Enforcer Motion-Activated Sprinkler - 62100” (ASIN B009F1R0GC)

Check on Amazon Affiliate link

When you do not need to buy a repellent

  • Under heavy deer pressure, fence instead. Iowa State calls fencing “the most effective way to prevent deer damage” and says deer fences must be at least 8 feet tall. University of Maryland advises homeowners to consider fencing as the more cost-effective long-term strategy.
  • Know what repellents can do. In the University of Maryland trials summarised in FS810, 19% of treated plants still lost more than 35% of their foliage (against 75% of untreated plants). Repellents work best with light to moderate pressure, on small areas, where deer have other food.
  • Plant around the problem. Rutgers groups plants by how often deer damage them; where deer pass every night, plants from the “rarely damaged” end of the list are a cheaper answer than spraying hostas every few weeks.

Sources